Follow Us
Join Our Mailing List

IHA Staff

Hugh Gordon, Vice President Development

Hugh joined IHA in December of 2015. He is a third generation Frederick County resident and has years of fund raising experience with the numerous non-profits that he has volunteered with over the 40+ years of his career. After graduating from the University of Maryland with a B.A. in Government and Politics in 1976, Hugh joined Kettler Brothers, Inc., a major builder and developer in the DC metro area. After a myriad of experiences while with KBI, he was promoted to the position of Senior VP of Residential Construction. He followed his time at KBI working in the mortgage industry for 25 years. Here he witnessed the overwhelming need for affordable housing. In his role with IHA, Hugh is responsible for growing individual and corporate donations. He also works closely with the CEO and President, Patricia Motter to coordinate the organization’s marketing campaigns. Hugh has over 30 years of “Service Above Self” through his participation in Rotary.

Mary Ellen Mitchell, Director of Community Relations

Mary Ellen combines a 15 year background in non-profit development and public relations to assist Interfaith Housing Alliance (IHA) in advancing its community relations directives. Her passion is to tell stories in a compelling fashion to achieve the goals of the mission. She serves on the Leadership Frederick County Council, the Board of Directors the Western Maryland Association of Fundraising Professionals and is a volunteer through the FMH Auxiliary and the Woman to Woman Mentoring program. A prolific journalist, her freelance work has appeared in numerous publications in Maryland and Pennsylvania.

Roy Moore Jr., Maintenance Technician

Roy joined IHA in the fall of 2009.   He worked for Humphrey Management Company from 1995 to 1997, working at several properties including Washington Ridge.   Roy has done contract work for others or on his own for most of his work history.  He worked for the Cumberland YMCA for 9 years where repaired an industrial dishwasher that supposedly “couldn’t be fixed”, salvaged heat pumps, and was the only employee who could maintain the sauna and steam room.  At one point he single handedly maintained the old YMCA, the new YMCA, and the Girl’s Group Home managed by the YMCA.   In his position, Roy provides general maintenance and repair at IHA’s Washington Ridge Apartments in Frostburg, MD and is responsible for the daily upkeep of the property.

Ron Morris, Vice President of Construction & Business Development

With over 30 years of construction management experience, Ron has a wide range of construction knowledge from new construction to home repairs. Ron received numerous awards during his 14 year career with one of the top builders in the nation, and in 1998 he was inducted into the Ryan Homes Master Builder Society.

Patricia (Tricia) Motter, President/CEO

Patricia, has been with IHA since November 2008. Her background and experience covers over 25 years in service organizations and foundations.  Prior to joining IHA and relocating to Frederick, Maryland, Tricia worked as the CEO of the Shelter of Flint, Inc. in Flint, Michigan for 18 years.  She received a Bachelor of Arts Clinical/Community Psychology degree from the University of Michigan, and holds a Masters degree in Public Administration from the University of Michigan.  Tricia is past Vice President of the Michigan Housing Council; was Co-Chair of the QAP Committee in Michigan, and was a member of the Grants Committee for the Flint, Michigan Rotary club.  In her capacity as President/CEO, Tricia provides leadership to the organization and manages its day-to-day affairs, and is responsible for charting the future goals and direction for the organization to expand its mission.  Her current business and community development relations include serving as Secretary on the Board of East Frederick Rising, a member of the Maryland Affordable Housing Coalition (MAHC), a member of the Housing Association of Nonprofit Developers (HAND), a member of the Women’s Giving Circle of Frederick County, and an Advisory Member for the City of Frederick CDBG Review process.

Patti Penn, Property Manager

Patti has been with IHA for 9 years.  Patti is a Site Compliance Specialist and is TACC Designated.  She has managed USDA Rural Development 515 Program and Tax Credit Properties since 1992. Patti attended The Design Institute in Miami for one year after high school and then got a minor degree in Business Management at Allegany College after co-owning and managing two businesses of her own – a café/pub and a creative needlework and arts shop.  As Property Manager, she is responsible for managing the day to day operations of IHA’s Washington Ridge apartment community in Frostburg, MD.

Carol Carpenter Riggles, Homeownership Coordinator

Carol joined IHA in October 2009 after more than 15 years in the residential construction industry working for Kettler Brothers, Ausherman Homes and Drees Homes.  Carol graduated summa cum laude from Virginia Tech’s College of Architecture and Urban Studies in 1999 and earned a degree in Business Administration in 1996 at Frederick Community College.  As Homeownership Coordinator, Carol is responsible for prequalifying participants of IHA’s Purchase-Repair Homeownership Program for no down payment, low interest mortgages, and to provide credit repair, debt reduction, and budgeting counseling for potential participants.  Carol enjoys volunteering and has worked on construction projects with Rebuilding Together, Habitat for Humanity, and the United Church of Christ Disaster Recovery in New Orleans.